LAUNCHING NEW WOOD ENGRAVING PRINTS BY DAVID FRAZER

broken

ART & ROCK & ROLL, ARE ALIVE AND WELL IN VICTORIA

Unstable Press is proud to present “Pool”, an exhibition of works by the internationally acclaimed printmaker David Frazer.
Following on the tails of the massively popular collaboration between David Frazer and Paul Kelly is Davids’ latest artists collaboration with Australian music legend, singer, songwriter Don Walker (of Cold Chisel, Tex, Don and Charlie fame).
David Frazer in collaboration with Don Walker is launching his new artist book “pool” and a series of wood engraved prints.
Frazer has interpreted Walker’s song “pool (major)” into 18 intimate & charming wood engravings, skilfully printed and bound into a book using old fashioned hand set type and then hand bound by skilled bookbinders using little more than a needle and thread. Every page is a hand printed treasure wrapped on the cover by a stunning linocut (which is sure to make itself into the contemporary consciousness to adorn pub walls across Australia).
This artist book is a rare “must have” for fans of David and Dons’ work. It is signed by both and is available in a very limited edition of only 15 copies. Aside the book will hang broadsheets of three of Don’s writings; “Silos”, “Pool” & the legendary Chisels rock classic “Flame trees”!

David will also be exhibiting a sympathetic suite of works, entitled “HAPPY HOUR”, which evoke the vibe of Walker’s everyday poetics within the fertile environment of the great Aussie pub in its surrounding melancholic landscape. These small works pay homage to the lost and confused, the bemused bloke longing for love in all the wrong places. Half funny, half sad, 100% loving, they are a celebration of hope, and the hopeless man.

David Frazer has held over 40 solo exhibitions in Australia, London and China. In 2007 he was the major prize winner of the 1st International Print Biennial in Guanlan China. In 2004 he won the Broken Hill Outback Art Prize. In 2013 he won the Acquisitive award at the Silk Cut Award for Linocuts and won the peoples choice award at the Fremantle Print Award as well as a high commendation. In that same year he won the peoples choice award at the Hutchins Art Prize in Tasmania. In 2014 he won an honourable mention at the International Print Biennial Exhibit held at the National Taiwan Museum of Fine Art. In 2007 the ABC produced a documentary on Frazer as part of the “Artist at Work” series. He has been interviewed on many occasions in newspapers and radio including the Radio National arts and book program in 2015.
Davids work is held by The National Library of Australia, State Library of Victoria, NSW and QLD, Monash University Rare Books Library, Baillieu Library University of Melbourne, National Gallery Victoria, Art Gallery of NSW and South Australia and the National Gallery of Australia.